Chaos Blogg 71: Frontier of Despair

Decided to cut this series from 12 to 8 since it was taking a stupid long time between posts. So here we go again, enjoy these remixes.

SteamWorld Dig (Wii U):

I bought this game on sale out of a desire of something simple to play, and thankfully SteamWorld Dig is quite simple and a fair bit of fun. It’s a platformer with some very light metroidvania and puzzle elements with a large focus on digging. The soundtrack and visual style are pleasant to a degree but nothing amazing. The game is very short but quite addicting and don’t seeing it lasting a long time since there’s no apparent replay value and the digging eventually becomes a tad boring once you’ve obtained all the upgrades the ore can buy. In short it’s fun while it lasts but I can’t recommend paying full price for it. Wait for another sale before you consider it.

GATE Season 2 (Anime):

Season 2 of GATE ramps up the action and provides some really cool battles and drama. The soundtrack is still pretty sweet and it’s visually solid. This season leaves many unanswered questions but presents it’s ending as a conclusion to the series (Probably in attempt to hedge its bets just in case a third season doesn’t happen). Something feels a little lacking compared to last season but I can’t quite place my finger on it. Either way I recommend this series quite highly.

Pokken Tournament (Wii U):

This game is a lot of fun but unfortunately the online is quite unreliable or at least my experience leads me to believe. Offline multiplayer works and is quite fun but I wasn’t quite able to enjoy to it’s full potential due to the controls I had on hand when I tested the feature with friends. Do not try to play this game with the wii mote and nunchuck. The single player is repetitive but I found it a great stress reliever and I think it’s a great way to train the player (after the training mode of course). It’s sparse on content and screams for dlc, but it’s still a really fun game. It’s got a great visual presentation outside of some of the pokemon looking a little weird (Mewtwo why you all slimy looking?), and it has an amazing soundtrack that gets the blood pumping. I recommend the game for those with good internet connections and for others I suggest waiting for DLC, a price drop or a sequel with more single player content.

Kid Icarus: Of Myths and Monsters (3DS VC): 

Oddly enough this game seems like a prequel to the NES one since it talks about the protagonist Pit being in training. In terms of visuals it’s basic but it’s not terrible. The soundtrack is fairly limited but I thought it was quite nice although I think that might be my fondest for 8-bit talking. The gameplay is slightly improved over the NES game in some of it’s concepts but it doesn’t feel quite as polished as the original. One problem is that the first boss is stupidly hard compared to the rest of the game (or at least it’s the only the challenge I remember). It’s a short but fun time and while I can’t recommend it as a priority it still has worth and I think you can do so much worse.

The Jungle Book (Movie): 

I never expected this movie to be good, and I was therefore pleasantly surprised when it turned out to be a well done family film that paid a good tribute to the classic animated feature. The voice acting is neat, and the film is quite visually striking. It’s a fantastic example of how a terrible idea on paper can actually work in practice. The soundtrack is fucking brilliant and offers several surprises. In fact don’t listen to the tracks I’ve provided until after you’ve seen the film… unless you don’t plan to see it of course. I recommend seeing this with family if you can.

Danganronpa: Another Episode (PSVita): 

An interesting experiment for the franchise that expands on the danganronpa universe. However making the jump from Visual Novel to third person shooter isn’t smooth at all but forgivable due to it being a spin-off. The gameplay ranges from passable to good, and in some ways it’s reminiscent of Resident Evil 4 but far less serious and refined in it’s mechanics. In fact the game eventually devolves into a bunch of separate horde and puzzle rooms, and thanks to genocider syo you can almost ditch the 3rd person shooter stuff entirely. Another big turn off point is the forced English dub, there’s no dual audio here folks and because of that the game suffers. For example Togami’s dub voice is unbearable and only outdone by the horror that is shirokuma (even if he does grow on the player). Thankfully a lot of the main cast is voiced decently so overall the dub is tolerable. The writing is pretty solid and even in 3D the series has a distinct visual style, if we include a pretty neat soundtrack it wins in presentation. The story is actually more fucked up than normal for the series, like some really dark shit so that’s something to keep in mind. Thankfully the story is somewhat self-contained while also providing some backstory for the main titles, unfortunately there also some unanswered questions and loose ends that I can only assume were left like that just in case there was a sequel to the spin-off. I think it’s worth playing for the story, the characters and presentation but I can only recommend it to people who have played both Danganronpa 1 and 2 but I also think that should go without saying.

Macross Frontier (Anime):

Space battles and music, with a relatively open love triangle (protag is more avoiding the issue than just being oblivious). While some of the character design feels a bit dated, and a bit janky this anime is an audio and visual treat as it takes catchy songs and uses them as a weapon in pretty cool space battles. It’s got decent story and characterisation but a lot of those aspects suffer/take a back seat due to the amount of music and space battles. I’m hesitant to recommend this one as it feels quite niche but hey if you like the sound of the music bellow maybe it’ll do something for you. I’m honestly on the fence, I enjoyed watching it but at the same time it didn’t really hit the spot for me due to some of the sloppier story telling mainly dealing around the antagonists. I plan on watching the movies for this which could be deserving of their own section but if my overall impression is the same I won’t bother.

Captain America: Civil War (Movie): 

By far the best Captain America movie to date, that capitalises on the huge cast of characters and the building internal conflicts seen in the previous Avengers movies. It’s got fantastic action, humour and drama with a tad bit of a darker tone. If I have one criticism it’s that the villains scheme seems way too luck based, which does break immersion but quite frankly delivers one the best fights I’ve seen from the Marvel cinematic universe as a whole. It’s also got good audio and visuals of course, outside of maybe a few shots in one scene. The introductions of Black Panther and Spider-Man were handled really well and I’m surprised at just how much I want to see a Black Panther movie now. Fantastic movie that I recommend highly assuming you haven’t already watched it by this point.

Well that’s all for now folks, let me know if you like this more middle of the road approach to this series. I’m trying to find what feels right so hopefully this is it. Anyway have a great day and enjoy some pictures.

tumblr_nn0csplKsl1tj6qzbo7_1280tumblr_nooo0vPxNM1qf0w3so1_540

51098487_p0_master1200

Leave a Reply

